About Amravati City Police

Amravati City Police Commissionerate was established in the year 1998 after the bifurcation of Amravati District, Police into Amravati City Police Commissionerate comprising urban areas of Amravati and Amravati Rural District comprising primarily the rural areas of Amravati District. This was done basically to ensure effective Urban Policing. There has been no change in the Revenue district and both the police units form a part of the Amravati Revenue District. Amravati City Police comprises of 2 Talukas namely Amravati and Bhatkuli while the Amravati Rural Police has 12 Talukas.
There are 10 Police Stations in Amravati City namely Frezarpura, Badnera, Nandgaon Peth, Rajapeth, Kotwali, Kolhapuri Gate, Gadge Nagar, Walgaon and Nagpuri Gate, Bhatkuli Out of these 10 Police Stations, Nandgaon Peth, Bhatkuli and Walgaon have substantially rural population but apart from this, the other 7 Police Stations are basically urban in nature. There are a total of 81 Municipal Wards of Amravati Municipal Corporation and there are 63 Gram Panchayats.
The 9 police stations are divided into 3 Police Sub Divisions namely Frezarpura (comprising Frazarpura, Badnera and Nandgaon Peth Police Stations), Rajapeth (comprising Rajapeth, Kotwali and Kholapuri Gate Police Stations) and Gadge Nagar (comprising Gadge Nagar, Walgaon and Nagpuri Gate Police Stations). Apart from these 3 Executive units, we have the Crime Branch looking after Sensational Crimes, Economic Offences and Cyber Crimes, the Traffic branch basically concern with regulations of traffic in the city, the Special Branch looking after Intelligence collection and monitoring emergency situations and Law and Order problems, Bomb Detection and Disposal squads with the responsibility of detecting and defusing explosives. There are other miscellaneous units like finger prints units etc. basically providing support services to the Police units. The Police Head Quarters under the administrative control of the Reserve Police Inspector primarily looks after the miscellaneous duties like guard duties, Prisoner Escort, Riot Control Platoons, Quick Response Teams and maintains other reserves to be utilized in emergency situations.
Amravati Police Commissionerate has been the ninth addition in the list of Police Commissionerates of Maharashtra, the previous ones being the Mumbai Police Commissionerate followed by Thane, Pune, Nagpur, Aurangabad, Nasik, New Bombay and Solapur Police Commissionerates. I, on behalf of all officers and men of the Amravati police assure the members of the public that we are here to work in a transparent and honest manner to uphold the law and provide safety and security to one and all.
The Amravati Police Commissioner is a Deputy Inspector General ranked officer designated as the Commissioner of Police who is assisted by Deputy Commissioner of Police Head Quarters (with supervision over Police Head Quarters, Crime Branch, Special Branch, and other branches of C.P. office), Deputy Commissioner Police Zone (1) (maintains supervision over Police Stations under the Frezarpura and Gadge Nagar Police Division) and Deputy Commissioner of Police Zone (2) (looking after Police Stations of Rajapeth Division and the Traffic Branch). The DCPs are assisted by various Assistant Commissioners of Police and there are a total of 7 sanctioned posts of ACPs in this unit.

Several decorated officers have held the post of Commissioner of Police Amravati in the past and their names with tenure is as follows.

Shri Ramrao Ghadge 06/07/1998 to 29/10/1999
Shri Pankaj Gupta 30/10/1999 to 08/03/2000
Shri Prabhat Ranjan 09/03/2000 to 11/06/2001
Shri Ankush Dhanvijay 11/06/2001 to 09/10/2003
Shri Babasaheb Kangale 14/10/2003 to 05/06/2006
Shri Jagan Nath 05/08/2006 to 31/08/2009
Shri Amitesh Kumar 31/08/2009 to 26/06/2012
Shri Ajit Patil 26/06/2012 to 23/03/2014
Shri Dr. Suresh kumar 23/03/2014 to 01/06/2015
Shri Rajkumar Vhatkar 08/06/2015 to 15/01/2016
Shri Dattatray Mandlik 15/01/2016 to 04/08/2018
Shri Sanjaykumar Baviskar 04/08/2018 to 09/09/2020
Dr. Arti Singh 09/09/2020 to 21/12/2022
Shri Navinchandra Reddy 21/12/2022 to till date